Ten thousand years as Intercontinental Champion

Posted on 05/21/2011 by

0



“I say I’m a million percent. That is better than a hundred percent!” – Randy “Macho Man” Savage

I had something else planned for tonight but sometimes life throws you a curve.

I’ve loved wrestling since I was a kid watching  Carlos Colon and Ric Flair go at it in the rain.

Randy was special.

The ten year old in me can’t believe they’re both gone.

You remember this highlight

Miss Elizabeth is almost ten year’s gone at this point.

They’re not the only ones.

And so is Sherri Martel

Hot Stuff, Dr.Death, Mr.Perfect, Rick Rude, Hawk, The Big Boss Man,Hercules and the Junkyard Dog died as young men.

Chris, Mike and Kerry Von Erich.

Mustn’t forget David.

Owen Hart and Brian Pillman

Yokozuna , Davey Boy Smith , Bruiser Brody and Terry Gordy .

Eddie Guerrero

The tragedy of the Benoits.

Bam/Bam Bigelow

Andre and Big John Studd.

And the list goes on.

Wrestling (much like football) has a way of eating you up.

Randy though was my favorite.

A talented athlete before he was a wrestler, he was a marvel in the ring and twenty years ahead of his time.

He made Hogan look like Kane.

He was funny too.

And I really thought that crazy bastard would outlive us all.

This then is a tribute and a memorial to what they give up to entertain us.

Goodnight Macho Man, my money’s on you for the Main Event in the sky.

Posted in: Uncategorized