Visualizing Nerdnumbers

Posted on 02/11/2011 by

10



Andres Alvarez changed my life.

Let me explain. Back in April of last year, Prof. Berri had a contest. Pick the best Win Producer for a day and get a prize. I participated and built what I thought was a nifty tool in excel to aid me. Dre went out and gave us the power of Automated Wins Produced.

It’s more addictive to me than meth and posting batman images.

Oh God. They're making it more powerful.

He’s the one who kickstarted this blog by reducing the complexity of analysis by a few order of magnitudes. So you can all blame him for anything I do in the future or have done in the past in this space 🙂

So, since he get’s a kick out of them, I decided to put up a visualization of the Automated Wins Produced for this season (as of an hour ago). The charts are:

  • Done by conference
  • Projected over an 82 Game season (for ease of reference)
  • Show the Top three players for each team and the rest of the team.

The results are interesting:

Dre, I hope you enjoy this one and it inspires some more cool tools for us to play with. Which might inspire some more posts. Which might inspire some more tools ….

A delicious cycle (Image courtesy of xkcd.com)

Posted in: Uncategorized