A Consistent Soul

Posted on 02/09/2011 by

27



A consistent soul believes in destiny, a capricious one in chance.
Benjamin Disraeli

I caused a bit of a ruckus with yesterday’s post on the 100 Greatest players in the Turnover Era. Apparently there’s no way that Michael Jordan cannot be the number 1 player on the list (even though he missed the better part of five seasons to injury or other causes). My response comes as always in the form of a graph:

Or maybe two:

The conclusion? Consistency matters. Barkley, Magic, Duncan and Rodman are the only 4 players among the top 100 that always played like stars. Jordan was the greatest shooting guard ever but:

  • He missed time to injury
  • He missed time because he was bored with basketball (take a look at that sentence again)
  • His teammates and coach were a little better than average (Just a little).
  • He was bad at the end

If we set up a hypothetical 100 best players ever draft, I’m comfortable saying Jordan is not my number one pick. My list actually goes something like this:

  1. Magic
  2. Duncan
  3. Garnett
  4. Jordan
  5. Barkley
  6. Lebron
  7. Bird
  8. Hakeem
  9. Shaq
  10. Rodman

But that just my opinion. Feel free to disagree.

In fact, I dare you. Make your own draft list and post it below. 🙂

Go ahead, make my day

Posted in: Uncategorized