The Last Day

Posted on 11/06/2010 by

10



It’s about people.

I don’t want to talk basketball right now. Not today. At least not directly. I’ll just say, today I get Lebron James.

You see, after six years a month and about ten days, today was my last day with Johnson & Johnson.

I am leaving because an opportunity presented that I couldn’t pass up. I was happy with my job. I was well respected. I loved my coworkers. My voice was listened to and sought out (and trust me this doesn’t happen overnight). But I had to take a chance because time is the only thing you cannot get more  of.

While I am hopeful for the future and new opportunities,  I am saddened to be leaving my old life behind.  But that’s life.

I’ve loved my time at J&J. Sure there were bad times (the unsuccessful audits, the 483’s , the many frustrations and false starts in improving our process) but they were balanced by the good (the successful audits, improving our manufacturing site to world class level, and in the process becoming an industry week top 10 manufacturing site and the standard for the company). As I reflect back now on those times, I am surprised to realize that even in the worst of times I had fun. I enjoyed myself. I realized that at the end of the day the reason for that was of course the people.

The biggest strength of any company (or any team) is always the people. It is was them and my experiences working with them, interacting with them and building something great with them that has made my time at J&J such a joy. I am a better person and  a better engineer for having met, worked and shared with my team.

I hope they can say the same about me.

I’d wish them luck but I know they won’t need it. They’ll be fine without me. Life will go on.

Instead I’ll thank them, here, on the record.

To my team, Thank you for the opportunities and the patience. Thank you for listening. Thank you for trying your hardest. Thank you for making me smile and laugh. Thank you for having my back and going to war with me. Thank you for letting me be a part of your victories and for being there for my losses.

Thank you all for everything.

At the end of the day, I am happy with my choice but sad for what it cost me, my team.

That to me is how you should feel and this is how you say goodbye.

Posted in: Uncategorized